Click here to skip navigation

Agency Directory

Department of the Interior

Our Mission: Protecting America’s Great Outdoors and Powering Our Future

Thank you for your interest in the Department of the Interior! Please visit http://www.doi.gov to learn more about our organization, mission and bureaus.

The Veterans  Employment Initiative was established to encourage and increase the employment of military veterans. The Veteran Employment Program Office assists veteran’s inquiries concerning the Federal government application process.. If you are a current Federal government employee, lateral government opportunities are advertised on USAJOBS (external link). Any veteran’s preference eligibility you may have will be afforded to you if all applicable supporting documents are included in your application (refer to the ‘Required Documents’ section of the Job Opportunity Announcement).

Please be aware that the DOI Veterans Employment Program Office is not a hiring office and therefore, unable to accept unsolicited resumes or conduct interviews for jobs. We will, however, answer any veteran employment-related questions; explain career opportunities within DOI; provide you tools and resources to assist you with your Federal resume; and, provide guidance on the Federal employment application process. When soliciting for non-competitive consideration, DOI will advertise those positions through the Feds Hire Vets Facebook page.

Prior to applying to any position, we recommend that you first determine what Federal position(s) you would qualify for based on your military experience and/or education. To do so, first go to the Military Skills Translator Tool located at http://www.mil2fedjobs.com (external link) which will allow you to cross reference Federal Positions related to your military occupational specialty. In addition to identifying those positions that are related to your military occupation, it will provide you with links to current open vacancies in that field that you may apply to. You can also narrow your search to specific locations or other criteria within USAJOBS.

Additionally, use the Federal Jobs by College Major link at https://www.usajobs.gov/Help/working-in-government/unique-hiring-paths/students/federal-occupations-by-college-major/ to help you determine which Federal Positions you may qualify for based on your education.

Please ensure your resume accurately reflects your qualifications, experience, knowledge, skills and abilities relevant to the position you are applying to.

DOI protects our Country’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power our future. We manage Federal lands, such as national parks and wildlife refuges, honor our nation’s trust responsibilities to tribal communities, and promote conservation and wise use of natural resources. To carry out our vast mission, we often recruit for the following positions:

  • 0025    Park Ranger
  • 0401    General Biologist
  • 0486    Wildlife Biologist
  • 0810    Civil Engineer
  • 0881    Petroleum Engineer
  • 1170    Realty Specialist
  • 1315    Hydrologist
  • 1350    Geologist
  • 1710    Teacher

DOI Bureau/Office Veteran Employment Coordinator Point of Contact 

Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)   

Geraldine (Gerry Fox) Geraldine.Fox@bia.gov 

Bureau of Indian Education (BIE)            

Jacqueline Benavides jacqueline.benavides@bia.gov
Jackie R. Shamblin jackie.shamblin@bia.gov

Bureau of Land Management (BLM)      

Sharon Fuller-Barnes sfullerbarnes@blm.gov  

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)

Gabe Durand Gabe.Durand@boem.gov

Bureau of Reclamation (BOR)   

Mark Susi msusi@usbr.gov

Bureau of Safety & Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)*    

Kathy Dang kathy.dang@bsee.gov

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS)     

Bill Fuller bill_fuller@fws.gov

National Park Service (NPS)      

Jessie J. Wood Jessie_Wood@nps.gov

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation & Enforcement (OSMRE)

Aron Kebrab akebrab@osmre.gov 
Nicholas Rice nrice@osmre.gov

Interior Business Center (IBC)* 

Melanie McAllister melanie_mcallister@ibc.doi.gov

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)  

Alicia Gomez agomez@usgs.gov

 

*Both BSEE and IBC service offices within the Office of the Secretary (OS).

Back to Top